Paul Gentry, Wood Engraver

Paul Gentry was a master wood engraver and printmaker whose works have been collected by major museums and libraries throughout the country. Paul died at his home in Independence, Oregon, on August 30th, 2020. There is a retrospective show celebrating his life and work at The River Gallery in Independence that will run through the…

WEN-CON U.K. Q & A!

Join trip organizer Joanne Price for a rescheduled virtual Q&A about the WEN journey to England on Sunday February 20th: 5pm- 6pm EST (4pm CST, 2pm PST) < notice the time zone Here is a link to the recording: https://youtu.be/3GTYn015xCo A Q&A session with organizer Joanne Price and CIE Tour rep Lou Macaluso. We talk…

WENCON2022-WP

WEN-CON U.K. 2022

Registration and Deposit Form WEN-CON UK June 26-July 7, 2022 ITINERARY: SUN. June 26: meet at London Heathrow airport. We will want to meet before 2pm (London time). MON. June 27: 10:30am–4pm confirmed special activity/event at Victoria & Albert Museum Print Study Room with curator/ scholar Bethan Stevens and many more, plus Society of Wood Engravers (SWE) members.…

November Virtual Social Hour!

19th Century Wood Engraving: A Collector’s Tour with Scott Ponemone WEN member Scott Ponemone will illustrate his presentation with wood engravings from his collection, starting with Thomas Bewick and John Bewick and ending with Elbridge Kingsley and Auguste Louis Lepère. The above wood engraving is by Charlton Nesbit (English 1775-1838) from Zachary Grey’s 1801 edition of Samuel…

The Ruling Machine – Virtual presentation at 2021 Wayzgoose!

The Ruling Machine: Wood Engraving’s Secret Weapon (live online) Monday October 25, 1pm EDT Join Joanne Price for a virtual presentation and demonstration as she unmasks the mysterious semi-mechanization of wood engraving in the gilded age. The Ruling machine is another piece of the puzzle from Jim Horton’s Commercial Wood Engraving in the 20th Century – how were these letterpress…